FML?

Posted: 06/06/2010 in Karma, Negativity, Positivity

http://www.flickr.com/photos/noquedanfotos/3495967586/

Photo: Sabino via FLickr

FML aka Fuck My Life: I wonder if that’s something I should be saying? Here’s a quick anecdote for ya…

This past week has been a rough one. My tank was running on empty due to lack of sleep, and it was a challenge to stay calm and not show any irritability to others around me, because if you’re like me, you may get a little cranky when tired. Then I had something stolen from me at work and was even able to view the security footage, so not only did I find the item stolen, I got to watch it happen 20 minutes later on film. It turns out if I would have come back to my bag 15 seconds earlier, I would have caught the perpetrator in the act. Normally I would be really pissed off,  but I surprised myself by being very calm, and not flying into a rage over it, especially because thievery is one thing that really gets my goat. But then again, maybe I was too tired to be pissed.

Seriously though, I think the reason I was calm is because I looked at it as a karma issue and learned a lesson from it. Earlier in the week, I knew I was scheduled to go into a city that is known as a very high crime area, and I had joked to a couple people saying “hey, I’m going to Oakland on Thursday, maybe I should get a gun!” I kind of think it was karma catching up with me when I vocalized a stereotype, then I had something stolen from me at that very place I joked about.

So that makes me wonder, should I be uttering the words “FML” or “Fuck my life?” That’s really a negative outlook, so based on what I learned this past week, I should be careful joking about certain things. Feeding the stereotype of Oakland being a high crime area by making a joke didn’t work out too well for me since a crime was committed against me while I was there for one day. I basically asked for it, right? I shouldn’t say “fuck my life” because that opens me up subconsciously to negative things happening or at least inviting them to happen.

If you’ve read any of my blog, you will know that I’m new to this, and would love someone to comment and tell me if I am viewing this correctly according to Buddhist principles, or hell, tell me I have it all wrong, I want to know. What I do know is that I won’t be saying “FML” anymore!

Comments
  1. Karma is tricky, still trying to understand the scope of it myself, but here’s what I do know…

    Karma isn’t just created by our actions and words, but by our thoughts. Karmic imprints are like seeds, and like seeds, they all ripen at different times I throughly believe there can sometimes be an immediate ripening, like what you are explaining here. There are also karmic seeds that we, in this life, will never see ripen.

    I guess what I’m saying, is no matter what, karma will effect us at some point. It’s our aspiration to keep that karma clean and purify the bad crap we’ve already built up.

    Not sure if this is what you were looking for but I just woke up and it’s what I got right now, hehe!

  2. Andrea says:

    Hey
    I’m new to being Buddhist also. But it has always been my experience that words have life. And the life they have depends on the way you use them. Now I am wondering what we can’t chalk up to Karma from this life or a past?

    • metalbuddha says:

      Hey Andrea,
      Thanks for the comment. I agree, words do have life…that damn cause and effect thing. That whole “sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me” shit we said as a kid isn’t always true, including hurting ourselves by speaking negatively about our situations. Good question too, it “all” comes back to karma, I think. Like I said, I still don’t completely understand it, but Nate had a good point too regarding not just words or actions, but thoughts as well.
      Later,
      -Brandon

  3. the german guy says:

    I study philosophy, by the way. And one of my teachers once said something like this:

    A word is like a knife? I think it’s even more dangerous! A knife can be thrown, and it doesn’t fly back on it’s own. It’ out of reach, gone. A word, positive or negative is always on your mind, it’s right there in front of you, but you cannot grasp it.

    I believe this to be very true.

Leave a Reply

