Let It Be

Posted: 08/03/2010 in Inspiration

Inspiration Point

For the last week or so, I have been somewhat frustrated due to my lack of inspiration for writing. I’m not on any kind of schedule where I MUST make a blog post, it’s more the fact that I NEED to write. It keeps me sane. I had some good inspiration with a series I began about how Buddhism and Heavy Metal are related, but got stuck after two posts, so that’s not much of a series. By racking my brain, pushing to somehow awaken to more connections, I think I’ve been limiting the ability for the connections to present themselves.

Due to my lack of inspiration, or writer’s block, I was inspired to write this post. I learned a lesson in this while bitching on Twitter about not having inspiration: Let it be.

When we as writers (or artists in any medium), try to force inspiration, the result is not always good. It goes the same for some songwriters. You can tell when they are forcing inspiration, because even though they may write a large volume of songs, most of them will probably suck. I have learned that the best thing to do is to just let the inspiration come on its own, and the product of that will more than likely be beautiful. There is a jewel in the pile of rocks, let it find you.

For now, I will continue studying, contemplating and meditating on the Dharma. Maybe I will continue my “series” on Buddhism and Heavy Metal, or maybe I won’t. The most important thing for me when it comes to being inspired or uninspired to write that I just let it be.

May all who read this be inspired.
May all who read this be an inspiration to someone else.

Heavy Metta to all \m/

Photo Credit

Comments
  1. Kim Corbin says:

    Love your blog… Wondering if you’d like to receive a review copy of Brad Warner’s soon to be releases SEX, SIN, and ZEN? If so please send me your mailing address (include your blog’s name) to kim at newworldlibrary dot com. Thanks!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kris Freedain and Zen Outlaw, Brandon G. Brandon G said: OK, I was bitchin earlier about inspiration. I learned a lesson and made a post about it: http://bit.ly/aWGkve […]

  3. Kevin says:

    Cool blog man… thanks for writing

  4. the german guy says:

    I’ve gone thrpugh your blod now and I must say, it’s the most inspiring thing I knwo since I picked up the bass to play along with DEATH’s “Human”-record way back when…

    Thanks for that!

    Greets
    The German Guy

  5. metalbuddha says:

    Wow, that is a wonderful compliment. I appreciate that very much. Heavy Metta to you! \m/

Leave a Reply

