When Death comes calling…

Posted: 11/06/2010 in Metal, Music

It has been an interesting few months in my neck of the woods. Our underground music scene has been rocked by 4 deaths of local musicians, 3 of the 4 involving vehicle accidents, and I personally knew all but one of them. I have spent some time reflecting on their lives and the loss our scene is experiencing. This feels like an epidemic, to be honest.

Makh Daniels – lead vocalist of the Bay Area metalcore band Early Graves passed away August 2, 2010 when the band was en route to a show in Reno, NV. The driver fell asleep and their tour van rolled killing Makh and injuring members of Early Graves and The Funeral Pyre. I did not know Makh, but I knew one of his bandmates. Based on what everyone has written and said about him, he was metal to the bone and a gracious man.

Randy Valdez – guitarist of the Sacramento band Colma. I used to watch Randy play when Colma was called Syphon. They were one of the first bands we saw when my girlfriend and I got involved in the local scene. Although I wasn’t very close to him, he was cool to hang out and chat with about music at shows. He was involved in a bad auto accident a couple months ago and he was taken from us way too soon.

Pasquale Zagari – guitarist of the Reno-based band Darque Carnival. My wife and I were very close with this band, staying the night at the drummer’s house when we road-tripped to Reno, and the band would stay at our house when they played here in Sacramento. Pasquale (aka Pat) was a quiet man, humble and one of the nicest guys I’ve ever met. He had a limousine business and treated my wife and I like customers and took us around in the limo truck that had a built-in bbq, which was awesome. I miss you, Pat.

Nicci DeSoto – lead vocalist of the bay area metal band Falling To Pieces died early this morning in a motorcycle accident. She loved to ride and she loved to fuck shit up on the stage. She was one of the most amazing metal vocalists I’ve ever had the pleasure of watching. She had range and versatility. Nicci could growl, scream and sing melodically, and her stage presence was perfect – the complete package.

I’m actually getting choked up as I type this and I don’t really know what to say but I had to pay tribute to honor the fallen musicians in our underground scene. The wound is still fresh from learning about Nicci’s passing this morning. We never know when death comes calling, and I know from a Buddhist perspective I should look at it through glasses of impermanence, but goddammit, this fuckin’ hurts! FOUR musicians from underground bands located within 2 hours from me (which I consider my local scene because I’ve traveled thousands of miles to watch and support these bands over the years) have been taken from us in the last 3 months, and right now, I just feel it’s not fucking fair.

Rest in peace Makh, Randy, Pasquale and Nicci. With heavy metta…\m/

Now here’s a video of Nicci D. fucking shit up at the Pine St. Bar in Livermore, CA. First song of her first show with the band. I had the pleasure of being there…

Comments
  1. Zen Outlaw says:

    Mucho heavy metta \m/ _/|\_

  2. Dan says:

    Our fallen metal warriors will forever be in hearts of Steel … until we meet in Valhalla all shall rage in honor of our brothers and sisters of metal -KF

  3. Wesker says:

    Thank you for the valuable information, I have been searching google for the past 2 days looking for this. Bookmarking your site for future reference. Thanks again.

    Feel free and wanna know about metal scene, kindly visit http://www.metal.com

    Metal Yeah!

  4. Tashia says:

    I am fuckin wrecked about Nicci’s death. There is absolutely no shame in shedding not just one but many tears when we suffer such a huge loss. She was a friend and a fellow musician I had the honor of playing shows with. As a female musician the is a respect and bond developed amongst the proud and the few of is … especially in the metal community. She was one of the best, so much hope and promise in her performance. I will dig deeper, love harder, and shred faster for all of our fallen friends. Let the these tragedies make us strong and unite us as a scene and teach us that life is to short so, we gotta drive it like we stole it … till the day we die.

  5. […] few months back I wrote a post about some recent deaths of musicians in our local metal community. One of those fallen musicians […]

  6. Can I simply say what a relief to find somebody who really understands what they’re talking about over the internet. You definitely realize how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More people must look at this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised that you aren’t more popular because you definitely possess the gift.

Leave a Reply

