Lucky Dad

Posted: 08/17/2011 in Practice

Today is bittersweet.

I’ve been bitching and moaning lately about how old I feel, due to my little boy starting 7th grade. It seems time passes way too quickly, because it feels like yesterday I was holding him and his brother in the palms of my hands. As I dropped him off at his first day of school, in his skinny jeans and beanie with some random logo from some random skateboard company, I couldn’t help but feel a little crotchety. However, I am very proud of this boy. He has always been very well-behaved and is well-liked by everyone he meets. He’s a peacemaker (although his little brother might argue that), and even-tempered. I’m a lucky dad.

Today also marks the 10 year anniversary of when we lost my father to cancer. He was only 48 years old. After dropping off my son at school, I stopped off at the cemetery to visit my dad. There’s not much to say other than I miss him a lot. I wish he could have been around to watch his grandson grow up. I can only hope that the pride I feel for my son, my dad felt about me. He instilled in me a very strong work ethic, and I hope he’s proud of how hard I work. I can’t help but wonder if he felt like a lucky dad.

Today is just one more lesson in impermanence. Our parents will not always be there for us, although there are times over the last 10 years I really wish my dad was around to give me advice when I needed it. Our babies will not always be babies. Before you know it, they will go from crawling around and sucking on a bottle to doing kickflips and listening to Iron Maiden.

Time passes before our eyes just as the wind carries the leaves, never stationary. Don’t get attached, enjoy the time, and cherish the memory. It’s quite a lesson.

In Heavy Metta,

\m/ Metal Buddha \m/

Comments
  1. TMC says:

    Beautiful sentiment. Wise words.

Leave a Reply

